top of page


Calling All Past Winners of the John Gust Football Award!


This season is the 50th anniversary of this award, and we want to gather as many winners as possible to celebrate this milestone and the inspiring legacy of John Gust.


The 3rd Annual Newport Harbor Alumni Tailgate

Friday September 29th at 5:00pm


at the Environmental Nature Center (next door to the field!)

Homecoming Football Game starts at 7:00pm


To get ready, we want to connect with as many Gust Award winners as we can. Help us find past honorees by checking the list by year below & spreading the word to your classmates.


If YOU are a past winner, please fill in this form so we can get in touch. 

Are you a past Gust Award Winner?
A friend or family member of a winner?

Thanks for submitting!

Tickets will go on sale later this summer, so stay tuned for access to a special evening on the beautiful patio of the ENC for food, drink, old friends, and great conversation. Kick-off is at 7:00pm, and we’ll head over to the stadium to cheer on the Sailors.

To keep the fun rolling, we need sponsors for this event!


If that’s you, reach out to us today:

(949) 515-6376 or

Varsity Sponsor $1,000

2 Tailgate tickets & recognition at the event, online, email and social media


Letterman Sponsor $2,500

6 Tailgate tickets & recognition at the event, online, email and social media


Gridiron Sponsor $5,000

12 Tailgate tickets & recognition at the event, online, email and social media


Touchdown Sponsor $10,000 – 

Naming Rights, 18 Tailgate tickets & recognition at the event, online, email and social media


Your Sponsorship, and any proceeds from the Tailgate, will support our Scholarship program. Over the past six years, because of the generosity of Newport Harbor High School alumni like you, we have awarded over $100,000 to help the career dreams of deserving students come true. 


This June, we recognized eleven amazing students from the Class of 2023, and we were able to offer our 2022 winners a second year of support. We received a record number of applications, and after the hardships of the pandemic, we continued to see more need than ever before. 

Learn more about our Scholarship Program

Help us keep this essential program thriving with a donation today!

Past John Gust Award Recipients

2022-23 Daniel Remsen

2021-22 Zach Zamora

2020-2021 James Crowell

2019-20 Michael Morrison

2018-19 Connor Spence

2017-18 Spencer Blake

2016-17 John Lamas

2015-16 Elliott Frye

2014-15 Trevor Shaw

2013-14 Quest Truxton

2012-13 Marty Taylor

2011-12 Cory Cablay

2010-11 Kellon Truxton

2009-10 Gabe Gomez

2008-09 Danny Miller

2007-08 Nathan Talbot

2006-07 Brice Stillman

2005-06 Louis Truxton

2004-05 ChristopherTaylor

2003-04 Peter Hoyt

2002-03 Jack Skahen

2001-02 Jeff Marshall

2000-01 Jim Erickson

1999-00 Kelsey Peterson

1998-99 Lance Chavez

1997-98 Garrett Govaars

1996-97 Ian Dorish

1995-96 Ramsey Allen

1994-95 Jack Hogan

1993-94 Matt Burns

1992-93 Justin Ketcham

1991-92 Darin Mangnall

1990-91 George Greenwalt

1989-90 Don James

1988-89 Sean Ellis

1987-88 Perry Mason

1986-87 Jason Granneman

1985-86 Scott Craig

1984-85 John Spangler

1983-84 Rich Powers

1982-83 Bill Brown

1981-82 James Kitchens

1980-81 Robert Anthony

1979-80 Alan Gaddis

1978-79 Dave Thompson

1977-78 Doug Brockmeyer

1976-77 Greg Steverson

1975-76 Steve Bruno

1974-75 Tom Bazacas

1973-74 Mark Duffy

bottom of page